top of page

Keynote Speakers 



Jian-long Zheng
Changsha University of Science & Technology, China


Prof. Jian-long Zheng is a member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering with expertise in highway engineering. He is the distinguished professor in the area of highway engineering and served as the founding president of Changsha University of Science & Technology (CUST). Meanwhile, he also owns a variety of academic titles, such as Director of National Engineering Research Center of Highway Maintenance Technology, Director of the Key Laboratory of Highway Engineering of Ministry of Education, the Vice Director of Teaching Guiding Committee for Civil Engineering of the Ministry of Education, the Vice Chairman of China Highway & Transportation Society, member of Executive Committee of the International Road Federation, the Founder of the Think-tank Alliance for Transportation Engineering, etc.. Prof. Zheng has been long engaged in scientific research, technological development and  application in the area of road engineering and geotechnical engineering, with over 200 journal publications and 7 monographs published. Till now, he has been awarded 35 national invention patents, coedited 4 professional specifications, and formulated 8 provincial standards. He was the recipient of the first prize and the second prize of “State Science and Technology Progress Award” in the year of 2009 and 2012 respectively due to his significant contributions to the development of highway engineering.

DSC_6670_Bhasin_portrait_03-2 low res.jpg

Dr. Bhasin is Joe J. King Professor of Civil Engineering and Director for the Center for Transportation Research at The University of Texas at Austin. His research and teaching interests are in the area of pavements and infrastructure materials. He has led several research projects sponsored by state and federal agencies as well private corporations from within and outside the United States. His research has delivered tools that are aimed at solving immediate problems being faced by the industry as well as shaping the future of materials being used in the construction and maintenance of roadways.  Dr. Bhasin's research and teaching has been recognized through several different awards and honors including the prestigious National Science Foundation CAREER award, the CUTC-ARTBA (Council of University Transportation Centers - American Road and Transportation Builders Association) award for outstanding contributions to research and teaching in transportation, and ASCE's Walter L. Huber Research Prize. He has also received the President's Associates Teaching Excellence Award at the University of Texas at Austin and the Regents Outstanding Teaching Award at the University of Texas (UT) System for his teaching excellence.

Linbing Wang 
University of Georgia , US


Dr. Linbing Wang is a professor in University of Georgia, College of Engineeringh. He is the founding chair of the Committee on Mechanics of Pavements, former Chair of the Nanomechanics and Micromechanics committee, a Fellow of ASCE, and a Fellow of the Engineering Mechanics Institute of ASCE. Dr. Wang has led more than 70 research projects funded by NSF, NCHRP, FHWA, DoD, DoA, DoTs, MOST and CNSF. His research centers on smart, resilient and sustainable transportation infrastructures. Specific foci of his research include multiscale characterization, modeling and simulation; smart and sustainable technologies; energy harvesting and sensor development; laser interferometry for material characterization and pavement assessment; innovative infrastructure assessment and performance predictions; high performance and multifunctional materials; smart and resilient infrastructures; pavement testing and mechanistic pavement design; infrastructure preservation and management; and IoT sensor network for structural health monitoring and safety. Dr. Wang has served as a member of committees of TRB, ASCE, and panels of NCHRP and NSF. He is the author of Mechanics of Asphalt, Microstructure and Micromechanics, McGraw Hill, and author/co-author of more than 250 journal and proceeding publications. Dr. Wang has organized/co-organized a number of international workshops, symposiums, conferences and hosted visiting students and faculty members from universities in China and Europe.

Gordon Airey
University of Nottingham, UK

Picture 1.jpg

Dr. Gordon Airey is Director of the Nottingham Transportation Engineering Centre (NTEC) at the University of Nottingham and Professor of Pavement Engineering Materials. He is President of the European Asphalt Technology Association (EATA), after serving as Deputy Chair for four years, and has previously served as Chairman of the Emmons Committee for the Association of Asphalt Paving Technologists (AAPT) and is a past Director on the Board of the International Society for Asphalt Pavements (ISAP). He has spent the last 25 years in academia and has over 30 years research experience in pavement engineering both in South Africa and the UK. In addition to his academic career at the University of Nottingham, he has held positions of Research Scientist and Visiting Professor at Texas A&M University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. His research interests include rheological characterisation of bitumen, bitumen-filler mastics and asphalt mixtures; the durability of asphalt materials; the micro-structural characterisation of asphalt mixtures; and the use of secondary materials, including crumb rubber and bio-binders. Professor Airey has been principal investigator (PI) on a number of UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) research grants including two EPSRC Platform Grants. His PI activities also include two large Marie Sklodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) international training networks ITNs looking at sustainability in pavements and railways (SUP&R ITN) and smart technologies in highways (SMARTI ETN). He has authored and co-authored over 350 journal and conference publications as well as producing chapters for a number of highway and pavement material books.  Professor Airey has served on the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) of Canada and on the Advisory Board of the Danish Strategic Research Council. Professor Airey is an invited Member of the External Scientific Board of the collaborative EPSRC research project ‘Resilient Materials for Life (RM4L)’ and an international investigator on the NSF Collaborative Research: AccelNet: ICNet Global research award led by the University of New Hampshire.



bottom of page